Home for Rent


Oxford United Kingdom

Listing # 109104


Rates From GBP 1500 Monthly
Independent Scholar Contributor
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(1)
Last Updated: Monday, August 24, 2020

South Oxford townhouse in extensive landscaped grounds

The house is in the landscaped grounds of a beautifully converted 19th century hospital known as St George’s Manor. It is very peaceful and far from any busy roads – ideal for a family with a small child or a pet.
The house is a 20-minute bus or cycle ride from the city centre and the university, and within walking distance of the Oxford Science Park. It has a large kitchen with a dining table that seats 8 people, a living room, one master bedroom with en-suite shower room, one family bathroom, one single bedroom and a study with a sofa which folds down into a comfortable double futon. There is a large shared lawn in front of the house where children can play and families can enjoy the spring and summer sun. Parking spaces are provided within the grounds.
The "Manor" residents form a friendly community of like-minded people, so there are plenty of opportunities to meet new friends and neighbours.
The house is a ten-minute walk from a large supermarket and pharmacy, and from the local primary school. Located on the southern edge of Oxford, it is a perfect starting point for walks or cycle rides along the river and into the local countryside. Tenants are welcome to use the adult bikes that come with the house.

Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
94 Sq. Meters
Suited for
5 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Monday, January 4, 2021 onward
Minimum Stay
3 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes

*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Oxford
Postal Code - State or Province England
Country United Kingdom
Neighborhood Keywords
Closest University Oxford University
University nearby Oxford Brookes University




Rental Price:

Asked
GBP 1500 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Inclusive of Council Tax
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Some
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Shops
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Yes
Small Children Safe
Yes
Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
Yes
Car Available
Negotiable

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

No

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Independent Scholar Independent Scholar (working outside traditional academia) & Retired Academics
Contributor
Matched Member
(4) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Nov 5 2016
This member has 1 review
About Me
I have recently returned to freelance translation after working for 13 years at the French Institute for Demographic Studies (INED) one of Europe's leading centres for population studies, where I was responsible for the English-language versions of our academic journal Population, our monthly bulletin Population and Societies and the INED Population Studies book series published by Springer. I have lived in France for more than 30 years now, but was born and raised near Oxford, where I have my second home. My French husband and I are keen travellers and home exchangers (4 very successful exchanges in US, Singapore, UK and Iceland). Though we use our Oxford home in the summer, we would love to fill it with life by making it available during the academic year.
https://www.cairn-int.info/publications-of-Dutreuilh-%20Catriona--15287.htm

https://laviedesidees.fr/_Catriona-Dutreuilh_.html

https://www.atessfrance.org/equipe

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 14 + 9 =


Reviews

This member has 1 review
ReviewRatingPosted ByDate
We stayed at this beautiful Oxford home for three months APril - July 2018. Catriona was easy to communicate with and provided everything we needed to settle in. The house was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and make a great place with kids. The house has everything you need for a long term stay and we loved our stay, Excellent Carmen 7/9/2020 8:06:00 PM
1