Home Sitting or House to Share


Tacoma Washington 98418 United States of America

Listing # 141083


Rates From USD 600 Monthly
Academic Verified
General
Availability
Location
Rates
Amenities
About Member
Reviews(0)
Last Updated: Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Cute House to Share in Tacoma

As the bumper stickers say, "You'll Like Tacoma." I sure do!

The location sets you up for spectacular day trips. In addition to the many fine parks in the city of Tacoma, you're less than an hour from some great state parks, and an hour drive gets you up into the mountains (Cascades or Olympics, take your pick.) Access to kayaking in Puget Sound is 2 miles away (and I have a kayak you can borrow.) You can also make use of my car (Subaru Outback) when I'm not using it. There are many great bike paths in the area as well. If you enjoy being outdoors, you will never run out of options here. If there's no traffic, you can be in downtown Seattle in 35 minutes.

I have a cute house to share during my sabbatical year and am looking for a housemate who can take care of my 3 cats when I'm traveling to work on my sabbatical project (much of this travel will be determined by the always evolving Covid-19 situation, but I could be gone for up to 3 months in the autumn and 3 months in the spring.)

The house is in the Lincoln neighborhood, within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in the 38th St. International District and the new Starbucks in a safe and quiet residential neighborhood. The #1 bus is a block away on Pacific. The house is situated less than 2 miles from downtown Tacoma and less than a mile from I-5 interstate access. The house was fully remodeled in 2013, so everything is new, with granite counters/vanities, stainless steel appliances, etc. There are wood floors in the common areas.

You would be renting a private bedroom (with queen-size bed) a private full bath. The room is 127.5 square feet, plus has a closet. It has one large and two small windows and is carpeted. The bedroom and private bath are located on the first floor (my bedroom/bath and office are upstairs.) Total square footage for the house is 1440. We would share the living room, dining room, kitchen, laundry area, and yard/patio.

I have three cats that would need you to provide meals, meds, and clean litter boxes each day during the months that I'm traveling for work. When I'm home, I take care of cat duties. The cats can occasionally go up to 48 hours on their own, so you would have the option to get away for a night or two from time to time.

As for me, I'm easy going and have had great relationships with my previous roommates over the past few years. I keep the house tidy and am pretty quiet and keep to myself but am also happy to chat over a glass of wine at the end of the day.


Basics:

Number of Bedrooms
2
Number of Bathrooms
2
Number of Offices
1
Surface Size
1440 Sq. Feet
Suited for
3 people
Property Type
House

Availability:

Available from Wednesday, July 1, 2020 until Thursday, September 30, 2021
Available from Tuesday, September 1, 2020 until Sunday, November 1, 2020
Available from Monday, March 1, 2021 until Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Minimum Stay
2 month(s)
Flexible With Dates
Yes
Comments on Dates
Definitely need someone here September and October 2020 and/or March through June 2021
*Approximate location of the property is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City Tacoma
Postal Code - State or Province 98418 WA
Country United States of America
Neighborhood Keywords Lincoln District Tacoma
Closest University University of Washington Tacoma
University nearby University of Puget Sound; Pacific Lutheran University; Evergreen State College; University of Washington; Seattle University




Rental Price:

Asked
USD 600 Monthly
Rental Fee Comments
Lower than market rate rent in exchange for cat care when I travel
Rent Negotiable
No
Utilities Included
Yes
Cleaning Services Included
No

Surroundings:

  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean/Lake
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Information:

  • Furnished
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Off Campus
  • Available for Short Term
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • Other:

Considerations:

Kid Friendly
Negotiable

Smoke Free
Yes
Pets Welcome
No
Car Available
Yes

Perform Housesitting Duties?:

Yes
  • Look after Pets
Housesitting Comments
3 cats need care when I travel

About Member

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Paid Made-a-Match Fee(s)
Member Since Jun 28 2020
This member has no review
About Me
I moved to Tacoma from the Midwest to join the faculty at the University of Washington Tacoma, where I'm a newly-minted Associate Professor of Environmental Arts & Humanities. I am absolutely thrilled to be here in western Washington, and Tacoma in particular. In my free time, I take advantage of all the gorgeous wilderness we have access to here in the PNW, whether that's on a trail run in the mountains or sailing around the Salish Sea. During my upcoming sabbatical year, I plan to spend as much time out in the wild as possible, and will hopefully be able to work on a project in Nepal (who knows, in these extraordinary times, but I'm currently taking a Nepali language class just in case.)

This member has referred 0 registered user(s) (0 academics)
Contact Member:
Please use the form below to contact party. Unless you give sufficient background information about yourself and we deem your query appropriate, we do not guarantee that your message will be forwarded. all fields required
Your Name
 
Your Email
   
Subject
 
Message Help
 
Human? Please answer: 11 + 11 =


Reviews

This member has no review