Looking to Rent or Sit


Wanted in California 95020 United States of America

Listing #130227

Academic family of 4 seeks swap or housesitting in Northern California for late December-early January

We are traveling up the west coast of the U.S. in December 2019 and are looking to stay 7-12 days in northern California. We have a very nice 3-bedroom home in Madeira, Portugal (Listing nÂș130144) that is available for a swap from 13 December. If a swap isn't possible, we hope to find a housesitting opportunity, or something very modestly priced. We are flexible about location, but we would prefer a house in or around one of the following locations: Gilroy | Morgan Hill | San Francisco | Oakland | Berkeley | Napa | Sonoma.

Academic Verified

Basics:





 
Accommodations suited for
4 people
Property Type
Any Type

Availability (Month/Day/Year)

Available from Monday, December 23, 2019 until Saturday, January 4, 2020
Flexible With Dates
Yes

Sabbatical Destination:

*Approximate location of destination is within the blue radius. Red markers indicate surrounding points of interest including schools, universities, libraries and museums.

City
Gilroy
Postal Code
95020
State or Province
CA
Country
United States of America



Rental Price:





Rent Open To Offer
Yes

Surroundings:

  • Rural Environment
  • Near Woods
  • Near Shops
  • Walk To Campus
  • Urban Environment
  • Near Ocean
  • Near Restaurants
  • Sub Urban Environment
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Public Transports

Additional Info:

  • Furnished
  • On Campus
  • Second Home
  • Available for Academic Term
  • Available for Long Term
  • Unfurnished
  • Off Campus
  • Architectural Gem
  • Holiday Term
  • Available for Short Term
  • SemiFurnished
  • Writing or Country Retreat
  • Historical Home
  • Summer Term

Amenities:

  • Modern Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Air-Conditioning
  • High Speed Internet
  • Wireless Network
  • Computer
  • Printer
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Elevator
  • Stairs
  • Reserved Parking
  • Security System or Doorman
  • Fireplace
  • Piano
  • Pool
  • TV
  • Balcony or Patio
  • Garden
  • ArtStudio
  • Gym
  • Baby Furniture

Considerations:






Perform housesitting duties?

Yes
  • Look after Pets
  • Care for Plants
  • Forward our Mail

About Member:

Name (Alias)
Status
Academic Confirmed Academic Faculty or Staff (Universities, Research Institutes, and Museums)
(Status Confirmed)
(0) Number of success-based contributions
Member Since Mar 9 2014
This member has no review
About
I am an Assistant Professor in Exact Sciences & Engineering at the University of Madeira, and my husband and I are both Research Fellows at the Madeira Interactive Technologies Institute. I am also a Pronunciation Editor for the Oxford English Dictionary Online. We have been in Portugal since 2008 and were previously in Lisbon. I'm originally from the United States, and my husband is from Canada. We have two lovely creative children, both edging into their teens. We travel Europe often and try to get back to the U.S. and Canada as often as possible. This summer (August 2019), we are hoping to arrange a swap; we’re currently very flexible on locations, but San Francisco | Berkeley | New York City | Brooklyn would be strong contenders.
https://www.m-iti.org/people/simone

https://www.linkedin.com/in/simoneashby/
This party has 1 other listing
Listing No.TitleTypeView

Exchange
Sit

#130144
Swap for our sunny, spacious 3-bedroom home on lush Madeira vineyardOffered View
1
This member has no review