Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon

Sunny 2br + office in Brooklyn, NY near Prospect Park, Museum, Botanic Gar.

Kings County, New York, United States
Preferred Destination: Florence, Tuscany, Italy
Alternate Destination: Open to any destination

Apartment or Condo | House Sitting Requested
Available Dates:
From March 15, 2024 until March 15, 2028


We are two writing professors / authors teaching at NYU. We're offering our sunny, spacious second floor apartment in a townhouse in Brooklyn, NY. Apartment has three large skylights, and East and West facing windows (bedrooms on different sides of the apartment so you always get morning or afternoon light). Half bedroom has been converted into an office, perfect for writing or curling up with a book. Dishwasher, air conditioning. Electricity, gas, water, and WiFi included. We have a large projector that we use as our TV, connects to an Apple Tv. We have the whole top floor of a two story townhouse. For accessibility note that there is one short flight of steps to the front toor and one flight to get up to the apartment. One bedroom has a queen sized bed and the other has a full size. Both mattresses are really comfortable! Grocery stores within walking distance and lots of amazing restaurants. This isn't really a big nightlife area (it's quiet and residential) but it's very easy to hop on the train and get anywhere you want to go in the city. Commute to NYU at Washington Square on the F train is about 30-40 minutes depending on time of day. The neighborhood is Windsor Terrace, which is a safe residential area near running/walking trails in Prospect Park, great food and cute local shops, quick hop to the historic Brooklyn Museum and beautiful Botanic Gardens. Each is a 10-15m bike ride or drive. The neighborhood is a nice balance between quiet and access to nature while being just three blocks from the F train to Manhattan and all the city has to ofer. It's also a great neighborhood for kids, with lots of young families and playgrounds especially in Prospect Park nearby. If you have kids and want recommendations for summer camp there are lots of great options in the area. We have a Toyota Prius available to borrow. Apartment comes with the care of two affectionate cats: Sprinkles and Ragamuffin. They are young and healthy so care is basic: food, litter, water, some play time if you are game! We are looking for an exchange this July (2024) in Florence, Italy since one of us has a research fellowship there this year. We are also excited to hear about exchanges anywhere in the world. Usually we have time to travel May-August and then again in Dec-Jan and mid-March if you're looking to be in NY around any of those times. IMAGES: blue townhouse, office, bedroom with queen bed living room (two views), kitchen, second bedroom (now has a full size bed, no crib), cats.




1,100 ft2

Suited For

Property Type
Apartment or Condo


From March 15, 2024 until March 15, 2028

Minimum Stay

1 Week | Dates are flexible for this listing | Open to non-simultaneous exchanges

Comments: We are two professors with a young child. Our dates are typically around school holidays and from late June through late August.


Apartment or Condo in Kings County, New York, United States

Nearby Universities
New York University | Columbia University | CUNY, The City University of New York | Barnard College | Baruch College | Fordham University

Windsor Terrace

Nearby Cities

New York

Explore the Area


  • Urban
  • Writer's Sanctuary
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Exchange Terms

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is included

Comments: We take care of professional cleaning before/after your stay. We have two young cats in good health. They need food/water daily but we have friends nearby who can fill in for a day or two if you want to have an adventure!


The home is suitable for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Smoking is not allowed

A car is available

Comments: We have a well-used Prius usually available to borrow. Accessibility: one short flight of stairs to get to front door and a flight of stairs to get up to the apartment. We have the whole second floor of a townhouse. On street parking.

House Sitting

I am looking for help while I am away

I would like help with my pet(s)

Two 1 and 2 year old cats, in good health. Need food/water/litter change.

I would like help with mail and deliveries

Bring in any mail or deliveries. (lightweight)

I would like help with plants or garden

For longer stays we ask that you water the plants, they only need water every month or so.









Temperature Control

Air Conditioning







Comments: Near large, historic Prospect Park with great walking, biking, running trails and a lake. Also near the F train to Manhattan. Restaurants, farmers markets, museum, botanic garden and shops nearby. Laundromat around the corner.

Our Travel Preferences

Who's Coming?

Party of
2 Adults | 1 Child

Our Destination

Preferred Destination

Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Closest University

New York University


Open to a home exchange in any destination

Comments: Looking for Florence house swap July 2024 (flex dates)

What We Are Looking for




0 ft2


I am fine with smoking or non-smoking in the home


I would like a car if possible

Comments: Hi, we're also fine with a studio or one bedroom and a fold out sofa :)


There are no reviews posted here yet.

Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon