Looking for spacious retreat near forest, sea and Boston universities?

Cohasset, Massachusetts, United States

Listing #145666


House | Entire Home | House Sitting Requested
Rates from USD $2500 | Weekly
Last Updated 2 days ago

About

We are looking for a couple, family or research group who would enjoy our California Ranch style home located in the forest/beach town of Cohasset. This home is ideal for a romantice/work / writing / art-making sabbatical time and also ideal for family. We are looking for people who respect nature and would enjoy spectacular sunsets and the sounds of the forest and wetlands just steps outside the several doors leading to the one acre backyard. We are also looking for people who enjoy cooking and sitting by the fire outside or inside (we have two large brickwall fire places). If you know about forest lands or wetlands and would like to study this area, our house is ideal. We are also looking for people who would live as they wish in our home and treat our place with tender loving care. We have two precious little cats (sisters, 2 years old) rescued during the Pandemic and we hope to have people come share our home who will give them some love too. They are quiet and great with children and other animals. They are only indoor cats. Our home is a three-level ranch split level with two large (6-feet wide) fireplaces built into floor-to-ceiling stone walls. One of the firelaces is in the kitchen. The kitchen has two skylights that open. The great room upstairs and the largest bedroom has its own private deck overlooking the pool and the forest and the wetlands. There is a private office/bedroom with its own bathroom and entrance and deck. There is another office with wall to wall view of the forest and birds and floor-to-ceiling built in wooden shelves. The entire house is designed to embrace natural light and create a feeling of spaciousness and privacy with each bedroom having its own bathroom and livingroom area. Fully equipped kitchen. One acre of forest extends into backyard. You can step into a canoe just steps from the backyard deck and paddle down the wetlands. The sea is 10 minutes drive or 20 minute bike ride down quiet tree-lined lanes with view of water reservoirs and lakes. We also have a generator, should any storms or snow knock out power -- it will come on automatically and stay on until power is restored. We have lived in Boston area for 14 years and recently moved to this home. The commute to my work at a College in downtown Boston takes the same amount of time it used to take me (walking and taking the T/metro) when I lived three miles from downtown Boston (30-40 min). Now I take the ferry (30 minutes) to downtown Boston or the commuter rail I can also drive. We are happy to arrange making our car (a Prius) available to you, should you wish.

Bedrooms
4

Bathrooms
3

Offices
2

Size
2,711 ft2

Suited For
6

Property Type
House

Availability

From July 15, 2021 until July 31, 2021

Minimum Stay

1 Week | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: I will be traveling for work and can be a bit flexible in start and return date, especially return date.

Location

House in Cohasset, Massachusetts, United States

Closest University

Harvard University

Nearby Universities
Massachusetts Institute of Technology | Boston University | University of Massachusetts Boston
Neighborhood

cohasset

Nearby Cities

Boston | Hingham | Quincy

Comments: convenient to town, grocery and tavern + incredibly quiet, private: pool, grill and firepits in backyard on acre of forest land and wetlands. 1/2 town is a nature reserve with 1,000s of acres of forest. 10 min drive to the sea. close to Boston.

Surroundings

  • Suburban
  • Writer's Sanctuary
  • Near Ocean or Lake
  • Near Woods
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Neighborhood School
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from USD $2500 Weekly | Negotiable

Utilities are included

A cleaning service can be discussed

Considerations

The home is suitable for young kids

Ask about bringing pets

Smoking is not allowed

A car is available

Comments: Rental car comes with sticker to Private Beach 10 minutes away. Can use Paddle Board and mountain bike.

House Sitting

I am looking for help while I am away

I would like help with my pet(s)

2 lovely cats (2 years old). they are sisters and very quiet and good with children and other animals.

I would like help with mail and deliveries

Just bring in mail -- we would be grateful.

I would like help with plants or garden

water indoor plants (takes 5 minutes a few days a week)

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Exterior

Balcony or Patio

Garden

Dedicated Parking

Backyard

Accessibility

Stairs

Temperature Control

Fireplace

Fitness

Pool

Appliances

Oven

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Dishwasher

Washer

Dryer

Comments: Pool, deck, grill, firepits. house on end of lane. California Ranch Style, three story split level. Two stone fireplaces. Flat screen TVs.Spectacular sunsets. Ferry (30 min), commuter rail (40 min) or red line (30 min) to Boston. Car available.

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.