Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon

Modern gem in North London

Greater London, England, United Kingdom
Rates from GBP £1400 | Weekly

House | Entire Home | House Sitting Requested
Available Dates:
From August 1, 2024 until August 18, 2024


Overall: Well located 1970's end-of-terrace house with a mid-century modern vibe. Directly across the street from the most beautiful park in London (Waterlow Park; Hampstead Heath an easy 10 minute stroll away). Very close to amenities, shops and transport. Fantastic lounge and library. Separate study with two desks, floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony, looking over tree canopy of Highgate Cemetery. Great open plan kitchen with glass doors opening to a pretty private garden with Japanese style pond. Two bedrooms with double beds; and a third single bedroom can be made available on request. Private parking for two cars. This is not in Central London, but it's quick to get in: the British Library can be reached in 25 minutes, door to door. A good base for a family who want to enjoy London's offerings but at a more relaxed, calmer pace. House: This is an architect-designed end-of-terrace house from 1971, but it is not a showpiece; it's a warm and comfortable family home. The entire house is available for use. It is best for a family of four, but up to five can be accommodated. It is fully equipped. There is a garage/workshop in the basement and a laundry room with washer/dryer. There is a shower upstairs and a bath downstairs. Ample space for reading and lounging. A very good collection of London architectural and urban history books are on site, which you are most welcome to use and enjoy. Neighbourhood: Highgate is a beautiful, historic neighbourhood in North London. It is leafy and green, close to numerous parks. The house looks directly out over atmospheric Highgate Cemetery, final resting place of Karl Marx, George Michael, George Eliot, Lucian Freud among others. There are many pubs very close by, including some of the best in London (the Flask, Wrestlers, Bull and Last). We are located directly next to Highgate Village, so are well served by small shops: a greengrocer (Greens), small organic shop, newsagent, butcher, Tesco Express. There is a bakery (Gail’s) and a deli (Village Deli, which make up excellent lunchtime sandwiches), as well as a stationer, post office, florist, chocolate shop and even an independent bookshop. A ten-minute walk away, down the hill at the bottom of Swains Lane are more shops – another slightly larger Tesco, a fishmonger, butcher, deli (Suprette), and several nice restaurants (Roni's, Citro, Bisto Laz). Transport: Highgate Village is compact. It is well served by buses, which can get you quickly to Archway Tube. (Otherwise, it is about a 12-minute downhill walk.) Accessibility: The house would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. We are happy to have children here, but it is not child-proofed. We would allow a small hypoallergenic dog at the house, but due to pet allergies, can't consider cats or other dogs. Negotiation: As we'd like to encourage a larger-term stay, we'll negotiate price for a 2-week+ stay.




2,300 ft2

Suited For

Property Type


From August 1, 2024 until August 18, 2024

Minimum Stay

7 Days

Comments: We are not flexible with departure date but are flexible with the end date (it can be extended to the 30th of August if required.


House in Greater London, England, United Kingdom

Closest University

London Metropolitan University

Nearby Universities
University College London


Nearby Cities


Explore the Area


  • Urban
  • Architectural Gem
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from GBP £1400 Weekly | Negotiable

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is included


Ask about the suitability of the home for young kids

Ask about bringing pets

Smoking is not allowed

A car is not available

House Sitting

I am looking for help while I am away

I would like help with mail and deliveries

Mail will arrive at the house. It can be set aside on the hallway side table.

I would like help with plants or garden

We will have a cleaner come once a week who will water plants/garden. But if the house plants in the kitchen could get a spritz now and then, it would be appreciated.





High Speed Internet




Dedicated Parking














There are no reviews posted here yet.

Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2024

Trust Score (7)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon