Portland Prof seeking Bay Area - pref. Berk Hills or Marin, fall/dates flex

Tenant Searching for a Place in Berkeley, California, United States

Listing #145834


Looking for Private Space or Entire Home | Willing to Housesit
Monthly Budget: Minimum USD $0 | Maximum USD $2500
Last Updated 29 days ago

About

Greetings! My name is Elizabeth Bennett (www.ElizabethAnneBennett.com) and I am an Associate Professor of International Affairs at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon. This year (June 2021-August 2022), I am on research sabbatical and writing a book about living wages in global supply chains titled “Bold Claims, Low Wages.” I am in Berkeley for the summer/fall and the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy Research at Harvard’s Kennedy School in Cambridge, MA for the spring. I don’t need much! The only amenities that are high priority for me are: 1) cool, quiet nights for sleeping; 2) a sunny window/natural light/outdoor space for long days of writing; 3) reliable wifi for zoom meetings. I am traveling with my 9 year old yellow Labrador, Rhubarb. She is quiet, well trained, gentle, and has been described as “more human than most humans.” When we are at home in Porltand, she comes to my office and attends all of my classes. We have traveled together extensively and she has lived in many houses in many places. Rhu has not chewed anything that she is not allowed to chew since she was 4 months old. She only gets on the couch IF invited (in my home she is NOT allowed on the couches). She likes to sleep on top of the bed with me. I have a king sized blanket that is water proof on the inside (like a tarp) and fleece on the outside that I put on top of the bed to protect all of the bedding. No balls or frisbees allowed in the house. I wash her dog bed cover and blanket weekly. She has never had fleas, does not roll in or eat poo, and generally smells great because I take her swimming so often and hose her off afterward. She does not jump on people or beg for food or bark for no reason (she will likely bark once if someone comes to the door to let me know there is a visitor). She does not need a leash to stay on the trail/sidewalk and knows left from right. I am allergic to dust and dander and thus sweep/vacuum/dust regularly. I travel with an new (2020) air purifier and pet hair attachment for Dyson vacuums (for rugs). I have had her since she was 6 weeks and given her all the tools she needs to life the type of life I can provide as an academic who travels a lot: a lot of change, love for community living, respect for rental properties, ability to respect beautiful spaces, and high expectations for behavior so that we are always welcome back. I am very, very confident that she will not damage a home. Rhubarb and I have AirBnb references (https://www.airbnb.com/users/show/2344620) as well as multiple, month-long rental references (not though AirBnb). I am happy to answer any questions: ElizabethBennett@lclark.edu

Bedrooms
0

Bathrooms
1

Offices
0

Size
200 ft2

Suited For
1

Property Type
House, Apartment or Condo, Studio or Loft, Guest House

Tenant Timing

From September 5, 2021 until December 1, 2021

Estimated Duration

3 Months | My dates are flexible

Comments: Seeking 2-5 month rental for fall - dates flexible

Desired Location

Berkeley, California, United States

Closest University

University of California, Berkeley

Nearby Universities

Mills College | San Francisco State University

Nearby Cities

Berkeley | Montara | San Anselmo | Montclair | Oakland | Sausalito | Fairfax | San Francisco | Bolinas | Point Reyes Station | Richmond | Mill Valley | Stinson Beach

Comments: Berkeley Hills preferred

Explore the Area

Surroundings

  • Off Campus

Tenant Budget and Terms

Minimum USD $0 - Maximum USD $2500 Monthly

I would like to have utilities included

I am fine with or without a cleaning service

Comments: I'm on sabbatical writing a book about living wages in global supply chains. I have AirBnb reviews, housesitting references. I travel w/ my 9 y/o yellow lab who attends my classes, is quiet, stays OFF furniture, has rental references, is VERY clean.

Considerations

I would like to bring my pet if it is okay

I prefer smoking not allowed in the home

Allergies are a concern

Comments: I am allergic to cats. My 9 year old lab has traveled a lot, is always w/ me, comes to class, described as "more human than most humans." PLEASE ask questions if you are unsure about permitting a dog. She has AirBnb and rental references.

House Sitting

I am willing to housesit

Yes, I can help with pets

Happy to talk about this. I have a threshold with cat dander due to allergies.

Yes, I can help with mail and deliveries

Yes, of course.

Yes, I can help with plants or garden

I have thriving organic vegetable, fruit, and herb gardens in Portland, OR and am happy to help.

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

Wi-Fi

Exterior

Balcony or Patio

Appliances

Refrigerator

Washer

Comments: The amenities that are high priority for me are: 1) cool, quiet nights for sleeping; 2) a sunny window/natural light/outdoor space for days of writing; 3) reliable wifi for zoom meetings.

Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
1
1 Adult

Member Background

Languages

English

About Me

Links

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.