Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (30)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (30)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon

Responsible retiree seeks enJOYment in a round-the-world adventure 24/25.

Tenant Looking for a Home in Athens, Greece
Weekly Budget: Maximum USD $200

Looking for an Entire Home | Willing to Housesit
Tenant Timing: From August 31, 2024 until December 20, 2024


At 63, and after 35 years in academe, I'm ready for my own GAP year. I'm heading east from Los Angeles in August 2024 via a Star Alliance flight pass or similar, and along with cruise ships, trains, etc., circumnavigating the world until about May 2025. Am seeking places to temporarily reside in southern Europe Sept.-Oct. 2024, Middle and Far East Nov.-Dec. 2024, Australia/NZ Jan.-Feb. 2025, South Pacific Mar.-Apr. 2025, May 2025 South or Central America.




800 ft2

Suited For

Property Type
House, Apartment or Condo, Studio or Loft, Guest House

Tenant Timing

From August 31, 2024 until December 20, 2024

Estimated Duration

30 Months | My dates are flexible

Comments: Any time Fall 2024, but preferably Oct., Nov., Dec., 2024

Desired Location

Athens, Greece

Closest University

Athens University of Economics and Business

Nearby Cities

Athens | Rhodes

Comments: Any Italy, Greece, Malta, Turkey location; near seashore preferred

Explore the Area


  • Walk to Campus
  • Bike to Campus
  • Writer's Sanctuary
  • Historic Home
  • Architectural Gem
  • Near Ocean or Lake
  • Near Mountains
  • Near Woods
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Public Transportation

Tenant Budget and Terms

Maximum USD $200 Weekly

I would like to have utilities included

I am fine with or without a cleaning service

Comments: Please see my profile and travel plans. Highly flexible.


I prefer smoking not allowed in the home

I would like a car if possible

Comments: I will walk or use public transportation, unless a car is available for minimal use.

House Sitting

I am willing to housesit

Yes, I can help with pets

Dogs, cats, birds.

Yes, I can help with mail and deliveries

I intend to be there every night; only day time excursions if any.

Yes, I can help with plants or garden

Very familiar with and enjoy weeding, composting, harvesting, watering.

Comments: I may or may not bring my partner/husband; he has businesses and may only join me part time.





High Speed Internet



Balcony or Patio





Tenant Details

Who's Coming?

Party of
2 Adults

Member Background



About Me

I'm a long-time tenured counselor and professor of social/environmental justice with plans for a fall 2024 retirement. I'm planning my "gap" year of traveling and writing before engaging in encore (post-retirement) efforts in humanitarian causes. This gap year is an opportunity to travel - without kids, grandkids or students - and to focus on local environments, cuisine, museums, sightseeing, etc., for short term (a few days) or longer terms (2 to 4 months) in almost any place in the world. I've recently sold my home of 30+ years, otherwise I'd be offering it up in exchange for yours. My plan is to purchase a round-the-world ticket heading west from Los Angeles or New York, with a departure of August 2024 and return of May or June 2025. Stops are planned for the approximate dates and vicinities (i.e., highly flexible house-sitting): Aug. - New England, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick Sept. - Ireland, Portugal, Spain Oct. - Italy, Greece, Turkey Nov. - Israel, Jordan, Egypt (per area stability) Dec. - India, Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia (Bali preferred) Jan. - Australia, New Zealand Feb. - South Pacific Mar. - Ecuador, Peru, Panama, Costa Rica Apr. - Mexico May - ? I just returned from 10 weeks in Europe summer 2023, 6 weeks in northwest U.S. summer of 2022, and 6 months in an RV fall 2021. I'm highly responsible, love dogs and cats and will take good care of your home, your plants, your books, etc., for however long you might need me.


There are no reviews posted here yet.

Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (30)
Academic Faculty or Staff

Listing Owner

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (30)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Listing Owner user icon