Sarah  user icon

Sarah

Member Since 2017

Trust Score (149)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member
Inner Circle

Near Tower Bridge - Entire Floor (70m2/750sq. ft.) in Central London Townhouse

Greater London, England, United Kingdom

Listing #110700


House | Entire Home
Rates from GBP £1800 | Monthly
Last Updated 51 days ago

About

THE ACCOMMODATION Perfect for a couple or two family members or a single person. (It is not suitable for children under 8 but an older child would be welcome). Please note that although this long-term rental is for a maximum of two people, there is room for up to two guests so you are welcome to have family members and friends to stay. I just need some notice so we can make up beds etc. (Once Covid restrictions have been lifted) You will have the entire 70m2/750 sq. ft top floor (2nd floor, American 3rd) of the house to yourselves, consisting of two bedrooms, a large open plan kitchen/dining/living room and bathroom. It is warm, light and spacious and has been completely refurbished whilst retaining the original period features. (The house dates back to the 1780s.) The new, double-glazed sash windows keep traffic noise and draughts to a minimum. The rent of £1800 per month is equivalent to about £416 per week and includes all bills (electricity, gas, council tax, water, wifi, TV licence) as well as fortnightly cleaning. Bed linen and towels are provided. There are two double bedrooms which interconnect with folding doors and can be opened up to make one very large room if desired. The bedrooms can be made up with super-king size double beds or twin beds as required. All the beds have pocket-sprung mattresses which should give you a fantastic night's sleep. The rear bedroom has a lovely sunny south facing balcony, which is perfect for taking breakfast on or catching the last rays of sun with an early evening drink in summer. The second bedroom doubles as a study and contains a large desk and plenty of shelves. I can provide an ergonomic, adjustable chair if required. The bathroom is equipped with a bath and shower. The heated towel rail means that the bathroom is always cosy in winter and that your towels are warm and dry. There is limitless hot water provided by the combi-boiler. The large open-plan kitchen/dining/living room is well-equipped with dishwasher, fridge, gas/electric cooker, microwave oven, large dining table and chairs as well as a stylish and comfy sofa and 32 inch television. The central-heating system can be switched on or off as needed. Each radiator has its own control so you can set the temperature of every room individually. In addition to the above, there is a hair dryer, toaster, kettle, as well as all the usual pots and pans, crockery, utensils, cutlery etc. You’ll have plenty of space for storing your belongings as there are two wardrobes and several good-sized cupboards and shelves. There is a washing machine, iron and ironing board in the utility room off the half landing. There is no dryer but there are clothes airers for hanging your washing on. I live on the lower floors and also let out a room on the first floor so although you are totally independent, I’m on hand if any problems arise and am happy to help with any questions about the local area and London in general. N.B. Smoking is not permitted anywhere on the property including the balcony, front porch and garden. THE AREA Bermondsey is a great place to live and work. Although it is very central, it is not just for tourists. The house is a 15 minute walk from the River Thames and Tower Bridge and 5 minutes from historic Bermondsey Street and its famous coffee shops, restaurants and galleries. The area is renowned for its weekend food markets and Friday morning antiques market. Borough Market, Tate Modern and Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre are also within walking distance. There are plenty of convenience stores and supermarkets close by which are open 7/7. The park across the road has a circular running track for anyone wanting to stay fit! GETTING AROUND Buses stop on the street close to the house every few minutes: The Number 1 takes you to the West End and its theatres and shops in 20 - 30 minutes. It also runs every 30 minutes throughout the night. The 78 goes to super-trendy Shoreditch and London's main business quarter, the City, via Tower Bridge (10 minutes) and Liverpool Street station (20 minutes). Bermondsey station is on the Jubilee line and is a 10 minute walk from the house meaning you can reach most parts of central London in 30 - 40 minutes. Here are some examples of travel times to various campuses and institutions on foot, by bus or Underground: 15 – 20 minutes: Guy’s Hospital (King's College), London College of Communication (University of the Arts London), South Bank University 20 - 25 minutes: King’s College, Courtauld Institute, London School of Economics, London Metropoliatn Universtity, School of Management - Canary Wharf, Cass Business School 30 – 40 minutes: School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University College (UCL), Birkbeck, Goldsmith’s College, British Library, British Museum

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
1

Offices
0

Size
750 ft2

Suited For
2

Property Type
House

Availability

From September 4, 2021

Minimum Stay

3 Months | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: 90 + days minimum

Location

House in Greater London, England, United Kingdom

Closest University

King's College, Guy’s, LSE, University of the Arts London (LCC), South Bank University. London Met

Nearby Universities
London School of Economics, Courtauld Institute, UCL, University of the Arts London (UAL) and most Central London university/college campuses

Comments: Bermondsey, Tower Bridge, Southwark, London Bridge, Central

Surroundings

  • Off Campus
  • Walk to Campus
  • Urban
  • Historic Home
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from GBP £1800 Monthly

Utilities are included

A cleaning service can be discussed

Comments: Rent is per calendar month. Part months will be calculated on a pro rata basis. A security deposit of one month's rent is payable.

Considerations

Ask about the suitability of the home for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Smoking is not allowed

A car is not available

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

Wi-Fi

TV

Printer

Exterior

Balcony or Patio

Accessibility

Stairs

Appliances

Oven

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Dishwasher

Washer

Reviews

3
Sarah  user icon

Sarah

Member Since 2017

Trust Score (149)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member
Inner Circle