Large, gorgeous house & garden within walking distance of Brown & RISD

Providence, Rhode Island, United States

Listing #145055


House | Entire Home | House Sitting Requested
Rates from USD $4000 | Monthly
Last Updated 18 days ago

About

Large, 3-bedroom home with library, dining room (both currently set up as offices), sunroom, dining nook, walk-through butler’s pantry, and music room, on four levels, within walking distance of Brown and RISD, on one of the most beautiful streets on the historic Eastside of Providence. Generous backyard, laundry room in basement. Lounge in front of the fireplace in the living room or read a book stretched out on the couch in the library. Ground floor: living room, dining room (used as writing room) with hand-painted wallpaper, sunroom, kitchen, large dining nook, half bath, butler’s pantry. Older but well-equipped kitchen. Second floor: two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and library. Huge master bedroom (king bed) on second floor has a walk-in closet and gorgeous en suite bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower. Second bedroom has a full-size bed and two closets, en suite full bath. Third floor: one bedroom (queen bed), music room/study, and bath with shower (no tub). House is full of light, and the garden is lovely. Library or third floor study can be used as bedrooms if needed. (There is a comfortable twin mattress that can be put on the floor in either room.) All mattresses, bedding, paint, etc., are green/eco-friendly. You will be sharing the space with our two five-year-old cats, and rent is reduced for their care. Rent includes: a/c, heat, water, high speed internet, lawn care, gardener, and monthly cleaning. (More frequent cleanings can be arranged for cleaners’ fee.) About a 20-minute walk to Brown, 25 minutes to RISD, 10-15 minute walk to charming Wayland Square, where you’ll find delicious treats at Madrid European Bakery, as well as other restaurants and shops. For more choices, the Hope Street shopping and dining neighborhood is about a 20-minute walk. Lippitt Park Farmers Market (through October 30th) a short bike ride away; Winter Market, beginning in November, about a 7-minute drive. For walkers, Swan Point Cemetery and Blackstone Boulevard are also within walking or biking distance. Busy Thayer Street, with yet more dining and shopping options, is about a 15-minute walk.

Bedrooms
3

Bathrooms
4

Offices
4

Size
4,500 ft2

Suited For
5

Property Type
House

Availability

From September 1, 2021 until January 5, 2022

Minimum Stay

3 Months | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: We can adjust our departure and return dates a bit if far enough in advance. We would prefer someone for the full 3 months, but will consider one-month rentals.

Location

House in Providence, Rhode Island, United States

Closest University

Brown University

Nearby Universities
Johnson & Wales University - College of Online Education | University College | Roger Williams University | Rhode Island School of Design (RISD)
Neighborhood

Freeman Platt, Eastside

Nearby Cities

Newport | Boston | New York

Comments: Centrally located and within easy walking distance of three dining and shopping neighborhoods, close to walks on Blackstone Boulevard or in Swan Point Cemetery, on one of the most beautiful streets in Providence, in the highly desirable Freeman Platt neighborhood on the Eastside.

Surroundings

  • Walk to Campus
  • Bike to Campus
  • Urban
  • Writer's Sanctuary
  • Historic Home
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Neighborhood School
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from USD $4000 Monthly

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is included

Comments: Wifi, water, heat, a/c, gardener, lawn care included, as well as monthly cleaning. We have two cats, and the rent is well below our costs in exchange for their care (this house is best for someone who likes cats!).

Considerations

The home is suitable for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Ask about smoking in the home

Ask about the availability of a car

Comments: Smoking o.k. outside, but not in the house. If we don't take our car, it might be available for light use.

House Sitting

I am looking for help while I am away

I would like help with my pet(s)

Two healthy cats who will need feeding and petting.

I would like help with mail and deliveries

Bringing in mail and packages.

I would like help with plants or garden

Watering houseplants.

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Wi-Fi

TV

Cable or Satellite

Printer

Exterior

Balcony or Patio

Garden

Dedicated Parking

Backyard

Accessibility

Stairs

Temperature Control

Air Conditioning

Fireplace

Security

Security System

Appliances

Oven

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Dishwasher

Washer

Dryer

Creative

Art Studio

Comments: Many options for writing rooms within the house, since there are two writers living here. Keyboard as well (not a piano, though).

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.