Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (48)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Matched Member

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (48)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Matched Member
Listing Owner user icon

Gorgeous “little house” near beach, shops, transport, quiet neighbourhood

Randwick, New South Wales, Australia
Rates from AUD $810 | Weekly

House | Entire Home
Available Dates:
From July 30, 2024 until September 22, 2024
Additional Dates:
From January 13, 2025 until April 30, 2025


WHO WE ARE: I am a freelance theatre producer/consultant having previously managed a number of Australian theatre companies and also worked as a senior university lecturer. I live with my husband (retired lawyer), our Burmese cat, and occasionally one of our 3 adult children (depending on what they are doing). We've lived in our neighbourhood for nearly 30 years and love its friendliness and proximity to Coogee Beach, Gordon's Bay, Clovelly, Centennial Park, Universities, Prince of Wales Hospital, theatres, galleries, walking tracks, bike routes, and great cafes and bars. WHY: The apartment was built over 2 years of Covid lockdowns in Sydney and the garden was reimagined and landscaped. I wanted to create a tasteful, comfortable apartment for family, friends, artists, academics, and others when they visit Sydney. ABOUT: The apartment is light and sunny but you can easily block out the light with the blinds. In summer there are ocean breezes and indoor fans. It's fully insulated and warm in winter with an electric heater and the upstairs ceiling fan can be set to push down warm air. Although it's set in a garden you don't need to worry about spiders or other insects. There are insect screens on most windows and insect repellant in the cupboard should it be required. Being new it's well sealed. The LIVING ROOM has an extendable table and 4 dining chairs. It is a good space for Zoom meetings and spreading out books and papers. There is a blue couch that can be converted to a single bed, a reclining TV chair, and another lounge chair. A large TV has good reception and streaming services. The wifi is fast and reliable. Crockery, cutlery, glasses etc are located inside the mid-century sideboard. The flooring is hybrid wood which is easy to clean and there is a floor rug. The BATHROOM is small but practical with a rainwater shower, toilet, and vanity unit with drawers. There are non-slip tiles on the floor. The KITCHEN is fully equipped with an induction cooktop, microwave, electric oven, toaster, and electric kettle. There are recycling bins for all your bottles, cans and paper. There is no dishwasher however the sink has 2 basins and there is ample crockery, cutlery, and cooking utensils. There is a front-loader washing machine in the kitchen and a couple of drying racks for hanging your wet clothes - these can be safely left outside depending on the weather. You can open up the bi-fold living room doors and kitchen window to let in fresh air or sit on the front porch and enjoy the district views and garden. In the carpeted upstairs BEDROOM there is a queen bed, 2 bedside tables, a comfy chair, a large built-in wardrobe, many drawers, and a storage area should you require it. All bedding is provided. It is easy to walk to many locations or take a nearby bus or the light rail from Randwick. We are 15-20 minutes walk to UNSW. Or by bus 10mins, and 25 minutes to the CBD, 15 minutes to Bondi Junction, 30 minutes to Sydney University and UTS. The area is quiet but only 10 minute's walk from the cafes and bars of Coogee Beach. The apartment is a 17-step walk-up (non-slip paving) through the garden from the bottom of our house. While you can look down on the rear of our house we can only see you if you have all the doors/blinds open in your downstairs area and we're outside. Lastly, we are happy to respond to any questions or assist as required but we also respect people's privacy when they stay. At times when we are away guests are welcome to use the full garden.




63 m2

Suited For

Property Type


From July 30, 2024 until September 22, 2024

Additional Dates

From January 13, 2025 until April 30, 2025

Minimum Stay

4 Weeks | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: The apartment is used for friends/family /artists /academics and not occupied by me. Flexibility depends on bookings. The Christmas/new year period may not be available depending on family. Best to ask.


House in Randwick, New South Wales, Australia

Closest University

UNSW Sydney

Nearby Universities
University of Technology Sydney | The University of Sydney | The University of Notre Dame Australia

Eastern suburbs

Nearby Cities

Comments: Located in a beautiful garden this newly built 1-bedroom apartment is fully furnished and tastefully fitted out. A 10 minute walk to Coogee Beach / 15 minute walk to UNSW. Shops and public transport to CBD/Bondi Junction around the corner.

Explore the Area


  • Walk to Campus
  • Bike to Campus
  • Suburban
  • Architectural Gem
  • Near Ocean or Lake
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Neighborhood School
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from AUD $810 Weekly | Negotiable

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is not included

Comments: Located at rear of our property, a beautiful garden separates it from our house. Newly built with modern fittings. Block out blinds. Faces west. A cleaning fee applies after 1 month (around $100 dependent on cleaner availability)


The home is not suitable for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Ask about smoking in the home

A car is not available

Comments: Smoking allowed outdoors on porch but not indoors.








Balcony or Patio











Comments: Bicycle available for use. 17 steps up the garden to the front door. 15 carpeted steps to the bedroom. All cooking implements including slow cooker. Large TV with screening services. Private garden with grass and trees. BBQ available on request.


Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (48)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Matched Member

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (48)
Independent Scholar or Retired Academic
Matched Member
Listing Owner user icon