Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (38)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (38)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member
Listing Owner user icon

Oasis in the City!

Kings County, New York, United States
Rates from USD $1850 | Weekly

House | Entire Home | House Sitting Negotiable
Available Dates:
From June 3, 2024


Stay in our lovely Park Slope town home for your New York adventure! Enjoy our home while you explore all that New York has to offer. We are both native Texan and long time New Yorkers. We raised our 2 sons in Park Slope - a great neighborhood to raise children in! My husband is a retired architect and I am an arts education and arts consultant, working towards semi-retirement. We love our home and hope you will enjoy it as much as we do and care for it as you would your own. It's not fancy but it is warm and inviting, and equipped with everything you would need during your stay. The space Our duplex home is fully furnished and comfortable for a family stay. The entry is up the stoop and opens to the common living/dining/kitchen on the parlor level. The deck off the kitchen leads out to our garden oasis for outdoor dining, reading in the "secret" garden or simply puttering. The 3rd floor of our home features a bedroom in front, full bathroom and a study with a sofa bed in back. Laundry is also on the 3rd floor. There are 2 work areas - one upstairs in the study and the other in the living room. We have fios internet, high speed wifi service, no cable tv, but there is a monitor to which you can connect your device and stream from. This is a perfect set up for a couple or small family who want a comfortable "homey" place during their New York visit. Would also work well for 2 adults who require separate sleeping arrangements. Our home is walking distance to restaurants, markets, and cultural institutions, 2 blocks from Prospect Park and a 7 minute walk to the subway for access to places further afield. There are multiple Citibike stations nearby as an alternative transportation option. Guest access You will have the entire indoor space and outdoor deck to yourself. The garden is shared space with our downstairs tenant. We will be out of town during your stay, but available by text or email to respond to any questions or concerns. Other things to note Please note that we have a tenant who lives downstairs with her young son in a completely separate apartment. You may (or may not cross paths in front of the building or in the garden area. Noise carries in these old homes and we ask that excess noise be kept to a minimum between the hours of 9pm-7am as a courtesy to our tenant and neighbors. House rules: Absolutely no smoking inside or in the garden. We ask that guests respect our no shoes policy when possible - especially in the upstairs rooms. No parties or events without prior approval. We love dogs, but unfortunately can't accept animal guests.




1,300 ft2

Suited For

Property Type


From June 3, 2024

Minimum Stay

14 Days | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: We will arrange to be out of town during any stay in our home. Rental terms are for 2-6 weeks only (not long-term sublets).


House in Kings County, New York, United States

Closest University

New York University

Nearby Universities
Brooklyn Law School

Park Slope

Nearby Cities

New York

Comments: Private townhome in charming neighborhood. Close to Prospect Park and public transportation. Perfect space for a couple, small family or 2 adults traveling together. Separate sleeping quarters with queen-size bed and sofa bed.

Explore the Area


  • Urban
  • Near Park
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Neighborhood School
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from USD $1850 Weekly

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is not included

Comments: Rental terms of 2-6 week timeframes. $250 cleaning fee applies to all bookings.


The home is suitable for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Smoking is not allowed

A car is not available

Comments: Note that there are no safety guards on the windows and our home is not "child-proofed".

House Sitting

I may need help while I am away

I may need help with mail and deliveries

bringing mail in from box 1-2x weekly

I may need help with plants or garden

Water pots as needed

Comments: We can also ask our tenant who lives downstairs to bring in mail and water





High Speed Internet



Balcony or Patio














Listing Owner user icon

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (38)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member

Listing Owner

Member Since 2023

Trust Score (38)
Individual Outside of Academia
Matched Member
Listing Owner user icon