Thomas L Berger user icon

Thomas L Berger

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (100)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Matched Member

London N1 - Islington 2 Bedroom Flat

London, England, United Kingdom

Listing #37043


Apartment or Condo | Entire Home | House Sitting Requested
Rates from USD $850 | Weekly
Last Updated 163 days ago

About

A large, lovely flat in Islington, NE London. It is served by the Northern Line (Angel) and the Victoria Line (Highbury and Islington). Better, though, are the many buses that pass by the flat, though at a distance not to make them noisy. Two of them, #30 and #277, head west on St. Paul’s Road to the Highbury & Islington tube station. The rest of them, #38, #56, #73, #341, head south to the Angel (the center of Islington), thence to "central" London proper. I have grown to prefer the buses. You can, in fact, walk across the street, catch a #73 bus for a 20-minute (or so) ride to St. Pancras, step off the bus, step onto the Eurostar high-speed train to Paris. Easy commute (one bus - no changes) to University of London, The British Library, West End, National Theatre and the South Bank. Utilities, rates, garbage-trash pickup, and bi-weekly cleaning service are included. Telephone service is included, but long-distance telephone calls are not included. The flat has two bedrooms. Both have large desks. The larger bedroom has a queen size(d) bed (with storage underneath), a desk and chair, a large closet, with storage room above. The small office/bedroom has a single bed (with storage underneath), a desk and chair, a bookcase, and a wardrobe. Wireless Internet service (BT) is included. The lounge (living room) has a couch with hassock, an easy chair, a small occasional chair, a coffee table, a dining table with four chairs, a Color TV with Digital TV Receiver (including a Personal Video Recorder), a VCR, a DVD player and three bookshelves filled with a good collection of fiction, poetry and reference books. There are radios in every room and a CD/audio tape player in the living room. There is a tidy collection of books in the flat, some for the owner's research in the single bedroom/office. There is a small collection of CDs, Audio Tapes, Video Tapes and DVDs in the living room. The hall has a coat hooks and a bookshelf full of local information, a serious collection of U.K. and Europe travel guides, maps of all kinds. There is a closet with cleaning supplies, lightbulbs, fuses, and tools. The bathroom has a bath with power-shower, a sink, a toilet, a tall, capacious cabinet, and a small 3-shelf unit. All linens are supplied. The kitchen has a gas hob with electric fan oven, a largish (by British standards) refrigerator-freezer, a microwave, a washing machine, a clothes dryer, a double sink, toaster, coffeemaker, blender, food processor, ice cream maker, dishes, crockery, glasses, etc. We have recently had British Gas install 4 thermostatic valves, one on each room radiator - minus the bath, (this one should stay open all the time according to the BG guy). This allows you to control the temperature of each radiator and room separately by thermostatic valve without having to fuss with opening and closing valves manually. (Suffice it to say, this is quite modern by British standards.) It is on the top floor of a 4-floor block of flats. The "garden" floor is half a floor down, the first floor, half a floor up. You must climb, then, up the steps to the entrance (a half floor), then two full floors. There is a large back garden. It is quiet. There is a Rudolf Steiner school in what used to be St. Paul's church across the street. Across Essex Road are the usual news shops and the U.K equivalents of 7-11's. There is a Sainsbury’s local down the street, hoping to drive the mom and pops out of business. Better shopping is down at the Angel. I should want a 13-week minimum lease, at $ (U.S.) $850.00 per week. The security deposit would be (U.S.) $1,700 (two-weeks rent), refunded at expiration of lease.

Bedrooms
2

Bathrooms
1

Offices
2

Size
700 ft2

Suited For
3

Property Type
Apartment or Condo

Availability

From May 2, 2021 until December 31, 2021

Minimum Stay

3 Months | Dates are flexible for this listing

Comments: Minimum is 13 weeks, but negotiable. NO 1-month rentals.

Location

Apartment or Condo in London, England, United Kingdom

Closest University

University of London, British Library, Senate House, King's College London

Nearby Universities
UCL, LSE, Birkbeck, Courtauld Institute, King's College London, SOAS, IOE,

Comments: Islington North London

Surroundings

  • Urban
  • Near Restaurants
  • Near Shops
  • Near Public Transportation

Rental Rates and Terms

Rates from USD $850 Weekly

Utilities are included

A cleaning service is included

Comments: US Dollar-Not negotiable

Considerations

The home is not suitable for young kids

Pets are not allowed

Smoking is allowed

A car is not available

House Sitting

I am looking for help while I am away

I would like help with mail and deliveries

Features

Interior

Furnished

Connectivity

High Speed Internet

Wi-Fi

TV

Printer

Exterior

Garden

Accessibility

Stairs

Appliances

Oven

Stove

Microwave

Refrigerator

Washer

Dryer

Reviews

There are no reviews posted here yet.

Thomas L Berger user icon

Thomas L Berger

Member Since 2008

Trust Score (100)
Academic Faculty or Staff
Matched Member